The Median Listing in La Canada, Part 2


Meanwhile, back at the ranch.  You knew I was going to say that.  Sorry, predictable me.  When last we met I had finished extolling the benefits of the exterior, grounds and stables of this median listing, which, I remind you, happens to be my listing even though it does actually pencil out as the median listing in all of La Canada. 

So the heart of this house, in every sense of the word except literally, is the great room.  I am starting here because I love the great room .  Its clean, open lines are the focus of the place.  It is also bright, airy and amazingly remodeled.  Here is a view of the kitchen and breakfast area.

We have white oak cabinets, granite counters, tumbled marble backsplash, storage galore including a pantry with multi-level shelving.  I love the breakfast area which matches the kitchen.  (I know I said love twice, but we can love two places equally.  Mothers have much practice with this concept).  Note the wood floors.  They are easy-care (damp mop only) and give a great unity to the entire house.  There is also recessed lighting, a bake center and easy accessibility to the rest of the great room.  Here’s another view:  that’s a Wolf stove with grill.  Note the center island with prep sink.  I love a prep sink because that implies someone else can prep while you cook.  Or they can prep AND cook while you play in the yard with Luna.   Whatever.  You do remember Luna, right?  Moving on.

This is a reverse angle of the great room showing the cool fireplace and family room seating. 

Just beyond that TV you get a peek into the office cum master suite.  I know that sounds odd.  The family is using this room as an office but I think it would make a great master suite because around the corner is a three-quarter bath. Staying on theme, it could even be a bunkhouse for the littlest cowboys.  You could open up the wall (on the right; you can’t see it) to give access to the living room fireplace.  I see I haven’t talked about the living room but I will in a moment. 

So the moment is up.  I really like this living room.  Besides the knotty pine cathedral ceilings, it looks out on the front so we get flow-thru light all day in this house. 

Just a few more things to say.  This house has five bedrooms and three baths.  I am not showing you the other four bedrooms and the baths because in the first place I couldn’t get decent pix of them, and in the second place, well, bathrooms are private.  But they are there and they have that same wood floors (in the case of the bedrooms) and nice tile in those other places.  We have a few other things that one should always mention, and if I can figure out how to use the bullet-point feature here I will bullet-point them because bullets and ranches go together in my experience (which admittedly is limited to original and reruns of Rawhide, Roy Rogers, and Have Gun, Will Travel).

  • Central air and heat (unlike the programs mentioned above)
  • Updated plumbing and electrical
  • Aluminum-tile 40 year roof (I think that is right)
  • Oversized detached garage cum tack and hay room
  • Large storage room under the house
  • Sewer on bond in the street awaiting to be hooked up to the house
  • Mostly replaced double-paned windows

If you by any chance are interested in knowing more about this listing, please let me know.  After this exhaustive two-parter I can’t imagine you have any questions but attention spans do vary.

Happy Trails.

All property photos except the office courtesy Erik Grammer Photography

copyright Nancy Wright 2011

What do you think? Please comment here. I love feedback!

